Untitled Document
Brown Columbia Cornell Dartmouth Harvard Penn Princeton Yale

Username Post: Meet the Posters        (Topic#19190)
Penndemonium 
PhD Student

Reg: 11-29-04
08-05-16 02:47 AM - Post#209264    

It's nice to see that the board has gotten more lively - with real recruiting info!

I thought I'd start a random thread (as I try to do sometimes). I see posts from many of you, but I don't know your back stories, your affiliation with Penn hoops, and your insider status. For example, P38 has some posts which make me think he has some inside connection, and others which make me think not.

Are you all willing to post the following:
1. Your years at Penn or your affiliation.
2. Background on your knowledge (fan, booster, insider, coach, reporter, etc.)
3. Your favorite Penn basketball memories.
4. Your prediction for Penn's record this year.

Here is my bio:
1. I was a '92 undergraduate and '98 MBA.
2. I am just a fan with no insider knowledge. When I was an undergraduate, I played another sport and would wander through the Palestra after my workouts. I'd often hang back in the stands for a few minutes to watch practices. Back in those days, I could tell you who was playing well or not from watching practices - which almost made me an insider.
3. My favorite memories:
- The 1992 season (Allen's Freshman year) when an undersized and generally slow team played the most unbelievable defense - to ultimately finish second in the league.
- In 1993 - Watching Matt Maloney's debut and realizing that the team was actually going to be really good.
- In 1993 - Krug's dunk against Princeton at home, Barry Pierce's game winning dunk at Princeton ("Keith Elias - 59 yards").
- In 1988 - the come from behind win at Dartmouth.
4. I need a bit more time to come up with a prediction. I think they'll be better than last year by virtue of having a few more shooters. I just hope they'll play defense!