Untitled Document
Brown Columbia Cornell Dartmouth Harvard Penn Princeton Yale

Username Post: Ray Carazo '64, 1942-2018        (Topic#21822)
Stuart Suss 
PhD Student

Loc: Chester County, Pennsylva...
Reg: 11-21-04
09-03-18 02:14 AM - Post#260905    

Played at Penn, assistant coach under Dick Harter, retained by Chuck Daly in 1971, head coach of Yale from 1975-1982.

In Carazo's first return to the Palestra, his Yale squad upset Penn, leading to one of the great post-game quotes of all time: "There isn't enough Schmidt's in all of Philly for me, tonight."

A brief announcement, here.

SteveChop 
PhD Student

Reg: 07-28-07
09-03-18 01:24 PM - Post#260910    
    In response to Stuart Suss

Sorry to hear this news. He made a contribution to the great Penn teams of that era. RIP Ray.

Stuart Suss 
PhD Student

09-03-18 01:53 PM - Post#260911    
    In response to SteveChop

In 1971, as a sophomore, I wrote a letter to the new Penn basketball coach, Chuck Daly, asking to do statistics. I went to the basketball office to drop off the letter. Daly was away from the office, and I was sent in to see the two assistant coaches, the holdover from the prior staff, Ray Carazo, and the rookie, Rollie Massimino. In a short time, Carazo decided he knew all about me. "I know your type. You are just trying to get into the games for free." Carazo threw me out of the office while Massimino watched silently.

Daly would return to the office and read my letter. He had no idea what had happened with his assistant coaches. Being polite, he invited me to the intrasquad scrimmage to show what statistics I could do. After the scrimmage, Daly showed me an article, by a man named Paul Keller, in Scholastic Coach magazine, about a concept called the offensive efficiency rating. He asked me if I could build a statistical system based on that article. The rest is history.