Untitled Document
Brown Columbia Cornell Dartmouth Harvard Penn Princeton Yale

Username Post: Thanks to C66 and AntiUngvar,, and to the Core and NYC        (Topic#22160)
Tod Howard Hawks 
Freshman

Reg: 03-17-14
11-21-18 12:08 PM - Post#266715    

Thanks to you both. C66, I remember the 5th floor of Furnald Hall well. My roommate was Tom Michael from Indiana, a national YMCA swimming champion, who was to be elected captain of the team both his junior and senior year. Quite an honor. AntiUngvar, thank you for your kind words as well. I loved my four years at Columbia College. Over the years since I graduated, I have shared with many others why I feel Columbia College offers the best undergraduate liberal arts education in the world: the Core Curriculum and New York City. As all of you know, every basketball player, every football player, every debater, every dancer--indeed, every student at Columbia College, regardless of his or her major--must take the Core. There is no fast break fast enough, no end sweep wide enough, to circumvent the Core. That means for me that every Columbia College graduate is learned for life, and is ready to enhance intellectually his or her life for the rest of his or her life. Moreover, living in and experiencing New York City, the de facto capital of the world, for four years makes every Columbia College student a citizen of the world, even if he or she decides eventually to reside somewhere else, which is what I did, winding up in Boulder, CO. This synergistic combination of the Core and the City is what sets, I feel, Columbia College apart from the other Ivy schools. Thanks again to both of you for your warm welcome to this board.

Edited by Tod Howard Hawks on 11-21-18 12:30 PM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

Mike Valmas 
Freshman

Reg: 07-30-18
Re: Thanks to C66 and AntiUngvar,, and to the Core and NYC
11-26-18 09:30 AM - Post#267019    
    In response to Tod Howard Hawks

What a bunch of boring nonsense.

AntiUngvar