Untitled Document
Brown Columbia Cornell Dartmouth Harvard Penn Princeton Yale

Page 1 of 2 ALL12
Username Post: More on next year & Jonah Charles/centers        (Topic#24230)
Condor 
PhD Student

Reg: 11-21-04
04-04-20 12:37 PM - Post#305761    

It seems some of the other threads digressed from their topics, so I decided to start a new thread.

It seems to me that the enthusiasm for Charles is based on his performance during the scrimmages and/or practice. He appears to have a great shot and will be an excellent 3-point shooter for us. He, Martz, and hopefully, Wang and Washington, will provide offense from beyond the arc. That said, it seems like our projections for Charles are founded on limited data.

For those that saw him play, how do you think he will fare once he plays in an actual game? Is he strictly a catch and shoot, does he create his own offense, is he a good defender, etc.

As for the centers, AJ has been the difference maker for the last four years. As a freshman, I recall being amazed at how well he played especially for a big. It is not surprising that SD played him 35 mpg last season, and any coach would have been all-in on AJ in his final season. It will be interesting to see how much we miss him next year. If MrJames’ assessment is correct, we will be a below average team without him. He is basing that largely on our 141 ranking and the unknowns about our talent especially at the big F position.