Basketball State Page
Scouting Report
Photo Gallery
Historical Record
Loyola Media
The Greyhound
Baltimore Sun
Baltimore Examiner
Username Post: Good to see...        (Topic#3659)
heyvern 
Sophomore

Reg: 09-13-06
09-13-06 06:43 PM - Post#22438    

Hey guys - I'm following the lead of DMCG and coming to this message board from the ESPN site. We had a pretty good crew posting on a regular basis last season and I think it makes all the sense in the world to consolidate. I'm a '98 grad and sat threw 4 brutal years of Hounds hoops. As a freshman, I was introduced to the "Dogpound" which was being run by SGA and was a mockery of what a college "student section" should be about or behave. A few of us took it over sophmore year and had a blast going to Hounds games and engrossing ourselves in the program eventhough the team, administration and coaching staff were sub-par.

As you guys know, last year was a breathe of fresh air. It was great to watch games on TV (I live in CT) and see Reitz packed with students and decent play on the court. I went to a few games in the area (Fairfield, St. Peter's & Manhattan) and was incredibly impressed with Patsos and his system. His antics on the sidelines are hilarious but they show his commitment to this team and the school. It's certainly a helluva step-up from Ellerbe and the rest of the clowns who Loyola has placed on the sidelines since I graduated.

Anyway, enough of my babble. I'm fired-up to start the chatter about Hounds hoops again. According to a friend (RKelly, who will undoubtedly join this board soon), the schedule is coming out later this week or early next week. He & I are already talking about the Coaches vs. Cancer tourney in November on St. John's campus. Keep the posts coming; glad to see other alums and our man-on-the-street DMCG getting things started. Looking forward to a great year.

Go Green!

jdp 94 
Masters Student
jdp 94
Loc: New York
Reg: 07-20-06
Re: Good to see...
09-14-06 12:28 AM - Post#22439